Triple-M Racing

Midget, Magna and Magnette 1929-1936

Mary Harris Trophy

Stefani Broch Photography

The History of the Mary Harris Trophy
The Mary Harris Trophy was presented by Mary Harris to the SE Centre of MGCC in memory of her late husband, F.L.M.Harris, who had run the Club in the immediate pre-war years, but who had died during the war,  believed to be during an air-raid.  F.L.M. was quite a character, and one of the few who had achieved a "Triple" in the MCC Classic Trials on two, three and four wheels in one year!  He was also a keen caravanner, editing, in addition to "Sports Car" the caravan magazine.
The trophy was never awarded, but when we (the Triple-M Register) got our first race at Silverstone in 1963, It was suggested to Gordon Cobban by Mike Allison that we would like a trophy to race for, and he offered the Mary-Harris, which was duly presented to the Register in a ceremony by Elsie C at the Kensington Palace Hotel dinner.  The first winner was Bruce Beer in his brother, Malcolm's J3 single-seater, J 3751.
The race was originally run on a handicap basis as per the original format of the Brooklands era with the slower cars taking off first. This format is still run at all VSCC events, creating fantastic racing where in principle all cars finish at the same time!. However in recent years and for the MGCC races the Handicap is run under a closed format based on practise times. So in principle the race will be a Scratch race with the outright winner taking the Kimber Trophy. The handicappers will work their magic post race and announce the winner of the MHT.


An amazing weekend at Brands Hatch for the 2016 Mary Harris Trophy.

23 cars on the grid, a quite fantastic achievement. Shall we go for 30 in 2017????

Congratulations to Jane Metcalfe who took her 3rd Mary Harris Trophy win.

Great friends and great racing.....perfect!
2016  Results


Classes and Awards

Any Triple-M register car is welcome, and some invited pre war guests might join us to help fill the grid.
For cars outside of the UK we will discuss entry criteria with you individually.
Non Pump fuel cars are welcome but we must inform the MGCC prior to the event.
Please note it is likley that the event will be noise restriced at 105db so please fit silencers.
We will be running various awards for the event:
  • Mary Harris Trophy  - First on handicap
  • Kimber Trophy - Outright winner
  • Don Moore Trophy - Ist unblown 4 cylinder car
Classes will be detailed prior to the event and awards will be available accordingly. We will also run awards for the combined results of both races
Race 1 Brands Hatch 2015
Race 2 Brands Hatch 2015
Mary Harris and Kimber Trophy
On board No.7 Mark Dolton MGPB
On board with Mark Dolton in the 1935 PB. Charles Jones in the L1 was long gone but the midgets chased hard.
Race start from race 2, again the midgets get the better of the K3's off the line.......but not for long!

Mary Harris Trophy Previous Winners
1963            Mike Hawke                J2
1964            Bruce Beer                   J3/s
1965            Stewart Milton            M
1966            Peter Bentley              PA/s
1967            John Goodacre            PA/s Single Seater
1968            Mike Hawke               J2
1969            Peter Cranage            NA(ND)
1970            Malcom Beer              K3/s
1971              Nigel Musselwhite    PB
1972             John Adams               PA/s
1973             Doug Harris                PB/s
1974             Andrew J.T Smith       K3/s Single Seater
1975             Andy Mclennan         J2-P/s
1976             Don Smith                   J2/s
1977             Clive Sherriff              M
1978            Tim Hunt                      PA/s
1979            Tony Dolton                J2-P/s
1980           Stephen Dear             F1
1981             Mike Hawke               J2
1982            Patrick Gardner         J2
1983            Andrew J.T Smith      K3/s Single Seater
1984            Patrick Gardner         J2/s
1985            Tony Dolton               NA/s
1986            Alan Grassam           PB
1987            Ian Davison                PB
1988            Mike Dowley              PB/s
1989            Gerhard Maier           K3/s
1990            Peter Moores            J2
1991             Elizabeth Green        PA
1992           Anne Templeton        K1/s Single Seater
1993            Nigel Musselwhite   D-PA
1994            Bob Jones                   L1/s
1995           David Downes           J2/s
1996           Andrew Taylor            NE
1997           Mike Allison               NB/s
1998           Brian Sayers              K2/s
1999           Andrew Bradshaw   PA/s
2000         John Adams              J4/s
2001          Carol Cooper             J2-PA/s
2002         Ian Davison               J2/s
2003         John Dutton               K2/s
2004         Tim Metcalfe              NB/s
2005         Peter Green                NE
2006         George Rozwadowski  NB
2007         Andrew Bradshaw   PA
2008         Tristan Last                NB
2009         Peter Fenichel           K1/s
2010          Jane Metcalfe            NB/s
2011           Mike Painter               Kayne Special/s
2012          Fred Boothby             J2/s
2013          No Race
2014          Jane Metcalfe             NB/s
2015          David Downes           NA/s
2016         Jane Metcalfe              NB/s
2017         Andrew Taylor             K3
2018         John Gillet                     K3